Skip to content

AgroCal500 Gypsum

Optimal input of assimilable calcium

Calcium is referred to as the king of nutrients. Exclusive to Agro-100®, AgroCal500® Gypsum is a practical and economical source of calcium and sulphur that has little or no effect on soil pH. Composed of 21% calcium and 15.5% sulphur in the form of sulphates for rapid absorption, AgroCal500® Gypsum is designed to favour optimal crop production. Its nutritive capacity and revitalizing effect make it the perfect soil amendment for any fertilization program aimed at reaching the full yield potential of many crops. AgroCal500® Gypsum helps to increase assimilable calcium and sulphur availability, establishing optimal conditions to produce high yielding crops.

AgroCal500® Gypsum achieves a dual function: fertilizing and revitalizing. Gypsum is a lot more soluble than most agricultural limes (about 100 times more soluble); making it a very good source of soluble and readily available calcium and sulphates. Calcium plays a crucial role in the composition and growth of plant tissue. It helps to improve plant development and resistance to diseases and shocks. Greater calcium availability is particularly important in order to obtain greater yields. With its high calcium content, AgroCal500® Gypsum limits physiological disorders associated with calcium deficiency (bitter pit in apples, blossom-end rot in tomatoes and peppers, tip burn in lettuce, etc.) and helps to produce fruits and vegetables that are better able to withstand preservation without any loss of quality that may be experienced at harvest. With AgroCal500® Gypsum, food is richer in calcium and proteins (sulphur effect). In combination with regular fertilization, AgroCal500® Gypsum activates and supports robust plant growth.

Sulphur is the other major component of AgroCal500® Gypsum. Today, sulphur is considered the fourth macronutrient with NPK for all cultivated plants. Sulphur is indispensable for the synthesis of proteins and chlorophylls and for the assimilation of nutritional elements, especially nitrogen coming from fertilizers or symbiotic fixation. Plants thus have a vital need in sulphur throughout their cycle including building up seed reserves. Sulphur is essential to reach the crop’s objectives in quality and organoleptic properties (rate of proteins, forage energy value, glucosinolates content in cruciferous crops, cysteine sulfoxides content in onions/garlic, etc.). Sulphur improves resistance and self-defense ability against stress. Furthermore, sulphur input helps to maintain the right nitrogen-sulphur ratio in the soil for matter to decompose. The reduction of atmospheric sulphur emissions and the use of sulphur-poor fertilizers generate a deficiency of this element in many crops. A sulphur deficiency in the soil leads to stunted growth and a loss in yield and quality at harvest, thus a loss in revenue. Since atmospheric sulphur is no longer available, fertilization needs to be fulfilled with a regular input of sulphur to ensure crop yield and quality. AgroCal500® Gypsum is a cost-effective solution to address any crops’ needs in sulphur. AgroCal500® Gypsum is recommended for calcium- and sulphur-intensive crops such as cruciferous crops, soybean, corn, potato, beet, alfalfa, clover, forage grass, etc.

Gypsum input is a cost-effective way to revitalize the soil. Indeed, gypsum (calcium sulphate) favours the formation of agregates and improves the structure of medium to heavy soils. Good soil structure is the foundation of micro-organism activity and increases availability of nutritional elements. By intensifying soil biological activity, Agrocal500® Gypsum creates favourable conditions to soil-life development (worms, bacteria). It can also help to reduce soil capping, improve soil aeration, water and nutrient retention by the soil and decrease loss due to phosphorus surface run-off.

Depending on their manufacturing process, some gypsums may contain residual lime, which may increase soil pH or else they may contain nutrients that are not entirely soluble in water. As for AgroCal500® Gypsum, it is entirely soluble and readily available and it has no effect on soil pH at normal application rates. AgroCal500® Gypsum provides obvious benefits in high pH soils or for crops in acidic environments.

  • Immediate calcium and sulphur input, both are essential elements for plant growth
  • Stimulates root establishment, plant growth and health, and chlorophyll formation (sulphur effect)
  • Improves soil structure and porosity, easing root penetration and encouraging better air and water circulation
  • Prevents soil capping (better seed germination)
  • Stimulates soil microbial activity
  • Increases availability of other elements in the soil and enhances the value of fertilizers
  • Reduces salinity (sodium displacement) and aluminum toxicity in acidic subsoil
  • No effect on soil pH (ideal for potatoes, blueberries, etc.)
  • Recommended for all crops, but particularly in calcium- and sulphur-intensive crops (cabbage, canola, alfalfa, soybean, corn, etc.)

In conclusion, AgroCal500® Gypsum offers the dual capacity of revitalizing and fertilizing the soil in a single operation. On top of having no effect on soil pH and providing precious essential plant nutrients, AgroCal500® Gypsum improves soil health and optimizes yields. The high agronomic value and “nutriliming” synergy found in AgroCal500® Gypsum make fertilization more profitable and promote an increase in productivity.

To learn more about AgroCal500® Gypsum

For more information about the agronomic and economic benefits of Agro-100’s nutriliming agents or to place an order of AgroCal500® Gypsum, please consult your Agro-100 agricultural representative or write to us at info@agro-100.com.

Sélectionnez une région

Find a retailer

Skip to content

AgroCal 500 Gypse

Apport optimal de calcium assimilable

Le calcium est reconnu comme le roi des nutriments. Exclusif à Agro-100®, AgroCal500® Gypse est une source de calcium et de soufre pratique et économique ayant peu ou pas d’effet sur le pH du sol. Composé de 21 % de calcium et de 15,5 % de soufre sous forme de sulfates pour une absorption rapide, AgroCal500® Gypse est conçu pour favoriser une production optimale des cultures. Sa capacité nutritive et son effet revitalisant en font un amendement parfait à tout programme de fertilisation visant à atteindre le plein potentiel de rendement de nombreuses cultures. AgroCal500® Gypse permet d’accroître la disponibilité de calcium et de soufre assimilables, créant ainsi les conditions optimales pour produire de hauts rendements.

AgroCal500® Gypse accomplit deux fonctions : fertilisant et revitalisant. Le gypse est beaucoup plus soluble que la plupart des chaux agricoles (environ 100 fois plus soluble); il constitue donc une très bonne source de calcium et de sulfates solubles, rapidement assimilables. Le calcium joue un rôle primordial dans la constitution et la croissance des tissus végétaux. Il permet aux plantes de mieux se développer et d’améliorer la résistance aux maladies et aux chocs. Une plus grande disponibilité du calcium est un facteur particulièrement important pour obtenir de meilleurs rendements. Par sa teneur élevée en calcium, AgroCal500® Gypse limite les désordres physiologiques associés au manque de calcium (tache amère chez la pomme, pourriture apicale chez la tomate et le poivron, brûlure des marges de la feuille chez la laitue, etc.) et permet de produire des fruits et légumes plus aptes à se conserver sans dégradation des qualités obtenues à la récolte. Grâce à AgroCal500® Gypse, les aliments sont plus riches en calcium et en protéines (effet du soufre). Combiné à la fertilisation régulière, AgroCal500® Gypse active et soutient la croissance vigoureuse de la plante.

Le soufre est l’autre composante majeure d’AgroCal500® Gypse. Le soufre est aujourd’hui considéré comme le 4e macronutriment avec le NPK pour toutes les plantes cultivées. Le soufre est indispensable à la synthèse des protéines et des chlorophylles et à l’assimilation des éléments nutritifs, plus particulièrement de l’azote issu des fertilisants ou de la fixation symbiotique. Les plantes ont donc un besoin vital en soufre tout au long de leur cycle y compris pour constituer les réserves des graines. Le soufre est essentiel pour atteindre les objectifs de qualité et de propriétés organoleptiques des cultures (taux de protéines, valeur énergétique des fourrages, glucosinolates des crucifères, le contenu en sulfoxydes de cystéine de l’oignon/ail, etc). Le soufre améliore la résistance et la capacité d’autodéfense contre les stress. Par ailleurs, l’apport en soufre permet de maintenir l’équilibre azote-soufre à un niveau adéquat dans le sol pour la décomposition de la matière. La réduction des émissions de soufre dans l’atmosphère et l’utilisation des fertilisants pauvres en soufre engendrent une carence de cet élément dans beaucoup de cultures. Une carence en soufre dans le sol mène à une mauvaise croissance et à une perte de rendement et de qualité de la récolte et donc une perte de revenus. Puisque le soufre atmosphérique n’est plus disponible, la fertilisation doit être équilibrée par un apport régulier de soufre pour assurer la qualité et le rendement des cultures. AgroCal500® Gypse est une solution peu coûteuse qui répond aux besoins en soufre des cultures. AgroCal500® Gypse est recommandé pour les cultures exigeantes en calcium et en soufre telles que les crucifères, soya, maïs, pomme de terre, betterave, luzerne, trèfle, graminées fourragères, etc.

Un apport de gypse est la façon économique de revitaliser le sol. En effet, le gypse (sulfate de calcium) favorise la formation d’agrégats et améliore la structure des sols moyens et lourds. Une bonne structure du sol est le fondement de l’activité des microorganismes et permet une disponibilité accrue des éléments nutritifs. En intensifiant l’activité biologique des sols, AgroCal500® Gypse crée des conditions favorables au développement de la vie des sols (vers de terre, bactéries). Il peut aussi aider à réduire l’encroûtement en surface, à améliorer l’aération du sol, à retenir l’eau et les nutriments par le sol et à réduire la perte de phosphore par ruissellement de surface.

Selon leur procédé de fabrication, certains gypses peuvent contenir de la chaux résiduelle, ce qui peut rehausser le pH du sol ou bien ils peuvent contenir des nutriments qui ne sont pas complétement solubles dans l’eau. AgroCal500® Gypse, quant à lui, est soluble et rapidement assimilable et il n’a aucune incidence sur le pH du sol à des taux d’application normaux. AgroCal500® Gypse présente des avantages évidents dans les sols à pH élevés ou dans les cultures des milieux acides. 

  • Sel neutre avec très peu ou pas d’effet sur le pH
  • Très faible quantité de carbonate de calcium
  • Apport de calcium sous forme de sulfate
  • Calcium sous forme de sulfate qui le rend plus disponible aux plantes
  • Calcium soluble plus mobile dans le sol
  • Apport de calcium dans les horizons plus profonds
  • Peut diminuer la quantité d’aluminium libre, ce qui peut permettre un meilleur développement racinaire
  • Culture visée:pommes de terre

En conclusion, AgroCal500® Gypse a la double capacité de revitaliser et de fertiliser votre sol en une seule opération. En plus de l’absence d’effet sur le pH du sol et de l’ajout de précieux nutriments essentiels à la plante, AgroCal500® Gypse améliore la santé du sol et optimise vos rendements et la qualité des récoltes. La haute valeur agronomique et la synergie « Nutrichaulante » inhérente à AgroCal500® Gypse rentabilisent vos coûts en fertilisation et favorisent l’augmentation de la productivité.

Pour en apprendre plus à propos de AgroCal500® Gypse

Pour en connaître plus sur les avantages agronomiques et économiques des Nutrichaulants Agro-100 ou pour placer une commande d’AgroCal500® Gypse, veuillez consulter votre représentant agricole Agro-100 ou écrivez-nous à info@agro-100.com.

Sélectionnez une région