Skip to content

Catalis

Excellent source of calcium and sulphur

Catalis®, Agro-100’s newest nutriliming agent, is an excellent source of calcium and sulphur. Composed of 31% calcium and 9.7% sulphur in the form of sulphates for rapid absorption, Catalis® is designed to favour optimal crop production. Its dual capacity of liming and fertilizing makes it an ideal soil amendment agent for any fertilization program aimed toward reaching the full yield potential of many crops. Catalis® establishes optimal conditions for producing high yields. It is certified by the Bureau de normalisation du Québec (BNQ 3264).

Since most plants perform better in a pH ranging from slightly acidic to slightly alkaline, lime application on acidic soil is a prerequisite for the optimal use of nutrients. Catalis® is composed of calcium hydroxide (Ca[OH]2) and calcium carbonate. Calcium hydroxide offers a kick-start effect with its rapid action on pH. The calcium carbonate will take over and stabilize the pH for a long-lasting effect. Catalis® surpasses calcitic lime (calcium carbonate [CaCO3]) by elevating soil pH much more quickly. Its agricultural index of 72% (dry matter) and its rapid action on the pH make it highly recommended for acidic soils (recovery liming). By maintaining an optimal pH, Catalis® improves nutrient availability. It intensifies the biological activity of soils, since it creates favourable conditions to soil-life development (worms, bacteria). At the same time, structure is improved, which provides rapid water infiltration, reduces run-off and prevents the risk of erosion.

Catalis® is more than a liming agent. Calcium plays an essential role in the composition and growth of plant tissues as well as improving resistance to diseases and shocks. With its high calcium content, the nutriliming agent Catalis® limits physiological disorders associated with calcium deficiency (bitter pit in apples, blossom-end rot in tomatoes and peppers, tip burn in lettuce, etc.) and helps to produce fruits and vegetables that are better able to withstand preservation without any loss of quality that may be experienced at harvest. With Catalis®, food is richer in calcium and proteins (sulphur effect). In combination with regular fertilization, Catalis® activates and supports robust plant growth.

Sulphur is the other major component of Catalis®®. Today, sulphur is considered the fourth macronutrient with NPK for all cultivated plants. Sulphur is indispensable for the synthesis of proteins and chlorophylls and for the assimilation of nutritional elements, especially nitrogen coming from fertilizers or symbiotic fixation. Plants thus have a vital need in sulphur throughout their cycle including building up seed reserves. Sulphur is essential to reach the crop’s objectives in quality and organoleptic properties (rate of proteins, forage energy value, glucosinolates content in cruciferous crops, cysteine sulfoxides content in onions/garlic, etc.). Sulphur improves resistance and self-defense ability against stress. Furthermore, sulphur input helps to maintain the right nitrogen-sulphur ratio in the soil for matter to decompose. The reduction of atmospheric sulphur emissions and the use of sulphur-poor fertilizers contribute to a deficiency of this element in many crops. A sulphur deficiency in the soil leads to stunted growth and a loss in yield and quality at harvest, translating into a loss in revenue. Since atmospheric sulphur is no longer available, fertilization needs to be complemented with regular inputs of sulphur to ensure crop yield and quality. Catalis® is the cost-effective solution to address all crop needs in sulphur. The sulphur contained in Catalis® can be completely assimilated by the plant and is readily available in the form of sulphates. Indeed, about 80% of Catalis®‘s sulphur is in the form of sulphates (CaSO4), and the rest is in the form of sulphites (CaSO3). In the soil, calcium sulphite quickly transforms into calcium sulphate (CaSO4), making this element also available to the plant. Catalis® is particularly adapted to the needs of sulphur-intensive crops such as cruciferous crops, soybean, corn, potato, beet, alfalfa, clover, forage grass, etc. Catalis® can be applied in pre-plant in the spring, at growth start-up or following each cutting in forage crops or in the fall after harvest.

  • BNQ-certified fertilizing residual material (FRM)
  • Rapid and sustained action on soil pH
  • Immediate input of calcium and sulphur, both essential elements for plant growth
  • Stimulation of root establishment, plant growth and health, and chlorophyll formation (sulphur effect)
  • Stimulation of soil microbial activity
  • Value enhancement of fertilizers
  • Stimulation of nitrogen fixation by the nodules (sulphur effect)
  • Improvement of tolerance to biotic and abiotic stress
  • Recommended for all crops, but particularly in sulphur-intensive crops (cabbage, canola, alfalfa, soybean, corn, etc.)

In conclusion, Catalis® offers the dual capacity of liming and fertilizing in a single operation. On top of its positive impact on soil pH and providing precious essential nutrients to the plant, Catalis® improves soil health and optimizes yields. The high agronomic value and “nutriliming” synergy found in Catalis® make fertilization more profitable and promote an increase in productivity.

To learn more about Catalis®

For more information about the agronomic and economic benefits of Agro-100’s nutriliming agents or to place an order of Catalis®, please consult your Agro-100 agricultural representative or write to us at info@agro-100.com.

Sélectionnez une région

Find a retailer

Skip to content

Catalis

Excellente source de calcium et de soufre

Catalis®, le nouveau Nutrichaulant d’Agro-100®, est une excellente source de calcium et de soufre. Composé de 31 % de calcium et de 9,7 % de soufre sous forme de sulfates pour une absorption rapide, Catalis® est conçu pour favoriser une production optimale des cultures. Sa double capacité nutritive et chaulante en fait un amendement parfait à tout programme de fertilisation visant à atteindre le plein potentiel de rendement de nombreuses cultures. Catalis® créé les conditions optimales pour produire de hauts rendements. Il est certifié par le Bureau de normalisation du Québec (BNQ 3264).

Puisque la plupart des plantes performent mieux dans la zone d’un pH légèrement acide à légèrement alcalin, l’application de chaulant à un sol acide est un prérequis à l’utilisation optimale de nutriments. Catalis® est composé d’hydroxyde de calcium (Ca[OH]2) et de carbonate de calcium. L’hydroxyde de calcium offre un effet coup de fouet par son action rapide sur le pH. Le carbonate de calcium prendra le relais et stabilisera le pH pour un effet durable. Catalis® surpasse la chaux calcique (carbonate de calcium [CaCO3]) en relevant le pH du sol beaucoup plus rapidement. Son I.V.A. de 72 % (matière sèche) et son action rapide sur le pH le rendent fortement recommandé pour les sols acides (chaulage de redressement). En maintenant un pH optimal, Catalis® améliore la disponibilité des nutriments. Il intensifie l’activité biologique des sols, car il crée des conditions favorables au développement de la vie des sols (vers de terre, bactéries). Parallèlement, la structure est améliorée, ce qui permet l’infiltration rapide de l’eau, réduit le ruissellement et prévient les risques d’érosion.  

Catalis® est plus qu’un amendement chaulant. Le calcium joue un rôle primordial dans la constitution et la croissance des tissus végétaux en plus d’améliorer la résistance aux maladies et aux chocs. Par sa teneur élevée en calcium, le Nutrichaulant Catalis® limite les désordres physiologiques associés au manque de calcium (tache amère chez la pomme, pourriture apicale chez la tomate et le poivron, brûlure des marges de la feuille chez la laitue, etc.) et permet de produire des fruits et légumes plus aptes à se conserver sans dégradation des qualités obtenues à la récolte. Grâce à Catalis®, les aliments sont plus riches en calcium et en protéines (effet du soufre). Combiné à la fertilisation régulière, Catalis® active et soutient la croissance vigoureuse de la plante.

Le soufre est l’autre composante majeure de Catalis®. Le soufre est aujourd’hui considéré comme le 4e macronutriment avec le NPK pour toutes les plantes cultivées. Le soufre est indispensable à la synthèse des protéines et des chlorophylles et à l’assimilation des éléments nutritifs, plus particulièrement de l’azote issu des fertilisants ou de la fixation symbiotique. Les plantes ont donc un besoin vital en soufre tout au long de leur cycle y compris pour constituer les réserves des graines. Le soufre est essentiel pour atteindre les objectifs de qualité et de propriétés organoleptiques des cultures (taux de protéines, valeur énergétique des fourrages, glucosinolates des crucifères, le contenu en sulfoxydes de cystéine de l’oignon/ail, etc.). Le soufre améliore la résistance et la capacité d’autodéfense contre les stress. Par ailleurs, l’apport en soufre permet de maintenir l’équilibre azote-soufre à un niveau adéquat dans le sol pour la décomposition de la matière. La réduction des émissions de soufre dans l’atmosphère et l’utilisation des fertilisants pauvres en soufre engendrent une carence de cet élément dans beaucoup de cultures. Une carence en soufre dans le sol mène à une mauvaise croissance et à une perte de rendement et de qualité de la récolte et donc une perte de revenus. Puisque le soufre atmosphérique n’est plus disponible, la fertilisation doit être équilibrée par un apport régulier de soufre pour assurer la qualité et le rendement des cultures. Catalis® est la solution par excellence, et peu coûteuse, qui répond aux besoins en soufre des cultures. Le soufre contenu dans Catalis® peut être assimilé entièrement par les plantes et est disponible rapidement sous forme de sulfates. En effet, environ 80 % du soufre de Catalis® est sous forme de sulfates (CaSO4) et le reste sous forme de sulfites (CaSO3). Dans le sol, le sulfite de calcium se transforme rapidement en sulfate de calcium (CaSO4), rendant cette fraction aussi disponible à la plante. Catalis® est particulièrement adapté aux besoins des cultures exigeantes en soufre telles que les crucifères, soya, maïs, pomme de terre, betterave, luzerne, trèfle, graminées fourragères, etc. Catalis® peut être appliqué en pré-semis au printemps, en début de croissance ou après chaque coupe dans les cultures fourragères ou à l’automne après la récolte.

  • Matière résiduelle fertilisante (MRF) certifiée BNQ
  • Action rapide et durable sur le pH du sol
  • Apport immédiat de calcium et de soufre, éléments essentiels à la croissance des plantes
  • Stimulation de l’enracinement, du développement et de la santé des plantes et de la formation des chlorophylles (effet du soufre)
  • Stimulation de l’activité microbienne du sol
  • Valorisation accrue des fertilisants
  • Stimulation de la fixation de l’azote par les nodosités (effet du soufre)
  • Amélioration de la tolérance aux stress biotique et abiotique
  • Recommandé pour toutes les cultures et, en particulier, celles exigeantes en soufre (chou, canola, luzerne, soya, maïs, etc.)

En conclusion, Catalis® a la double capacité de chauler et de fertiliser votre sol en une seule opération. En plus de son impact positif sur le pH du sol et de l’ajout de précieux nutriments essentiels à la plante, Catalis® améliore la santé du sol et optimise vos rendements et la qualité. La haute valeur agronomique et la synergie « Nutrichaulante » inhérente à Catalis® rentabilisent vos coûts en fertilisation et favorisent l’augmentation de la productivité.

Pour en apprendre plus à propos de Catalis®

Pour en connaître plus sur les avantages agronomiques et économiques des Nutrichaulants Agro-100 ou pour placer une commande de Catalis®, veuillez consulter votre représentant agricole Agro-100 ou écrivez-nous à info@agro-100.com.

Sélectionnez une région